|Tom and Porte St. Louis|
FASCINATING FACT - We learned that Old Quebec is the only remaining fortified city in North America north of Mexico
ABOUT THE WALL - The wall, which runs on the eastern extremity on the Promontory of Quebec, surrounds most of Old Quebec, known as the "Historic District of Old Quebec," which was declared a World Heritage site by UNESCO in 1985. It surrounds part of the Upper Town and the Lower Town.
|Looking atop the wall|
THE 4 GATES (PORTES) - There are four gates around the city. There were apparently more, although we couldn't find out what they called or where they were located.
1. Porte St. Louis: dates back to at least 1694 was demolished in 1791 because of its poor condition and rebuilt. This gate lasted until 1823 when it was replaced. It was eventually removed altogether in 1871 before being replaced by the gate we see now in 1880 by Lord Dufferin
2. Porte St. Jean: dates back to at least 1694, was demolished in 1791 because of its poor condition and rebuilt. This gate lasted until 1865 when it was demolished and rebuilt again. The present gate was built in 1939.
|The Kent Gate|
3. Porte Kent: erected in 1879 was named after Queen Victoria's father The Duke of Kent.
|Top of the wall after going up a staircase|
4. Porte Prescott: erected in 1797 by, and named after Robert Prescott. It was demolished in 1871. The current gate was built in 1983 (we didn't see this gate).
|The Prescott Gate (Port)|
|Doorway atop the wall|
DID YOU KNOW?
Quebec is the capital city of the Quebec Province and the top 2 industries are tourism and government.
NEXT: Chateau Frontenac and their dog Mascot