In this blog about Old Quebec City, we'll explore Place Royale, a central plaza in the Lower Town of Old Quebec. In the center of the square is a bust of Louis XIV. There's also one of Quebec's oldest churches, built in 1688. In the 17th century, this plaza hosted a bustling market, and it's busy, but not bustling today. We did enjoy a tea and pastry breakfast at Maison Smith Bakery on the square.
LOUIS XIV TRIBUTE - The square was decorated in 1686 by a statue of the French "sun king" Louis XIV and therefore also named Place Royale.
|Maison Smith Bakery|
OLDEST STONE CHURCH! - On the south side of the square, the church of Notre-Dame-des-Victoires was built between 1687 and 1723, which is the oldest stone church in North America.
ORIGINAL BUILDING PURPOSES - The buildings erected at that time served mainly the fur trade with the native inhabitants. The trading post developed rapidly and became the present suburb of Québec. The reconstruction after the great fire of 1682 took place with fire walls.
|An old photo of the square|
FALLING DOWN, BUILDING UP - In 1759, the British army under General James Wolfe laid siege to Québec, destroying a large part of the city, including the Place Royale, by bombarding it. In the 1960s and 1970s extensive reconstruction, reconstruction and reconstruction work was carried out in the district.
|A look into Place Royal from the Quebec Fresco|
NEXT: OFF TO PRISON AT THE HAUNTED MORRIN CENTER!
|The Oldest Stone Church in North America|